TWELVE ELVE

As I review the failed word report, I sometimes think I know that a word pair is obviously wrong.  I assumed this was the case with the rhyme word pair “twelve” and “elve” which appeared three times.   I know that “elf” is singular for one tiny mischievous imaginary fairy and “elves” is the plural form.  But I decided I should do some checking. I learned that “elve” refers to a reddish glow sometimes seen during a severe thunderstorm and is created by the electromagnetic pulses from lightening. This word is now in our data base.  So a big thank you to all players who every day are expanding our knowledge and dictionary.  JB

Leave a Reply

